THE VEPR FORUM

Atterete Dominatum
It is currently Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:38 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:21 pm 

Hi.
I am new to optics. Only used irons and red dot.
I ordered a VEPR 7.62x54R 23" What i will to Dragunov style stocks. And i have a DSA SA58 .308 21"
I would like to set them up for as DMR rifles. Not because i need one (or 2) , i love the the style :roll:
So , i was looking to get a budget illuminated MIL dot scope to get a feel of it. A would like to use the same scope on both rifle.
Would a Mueller 4-16x50mm AO Tactical a good choice ? Or is overkill to get such a big scope?
http://muelleroptics.com/mt41650igr

Thanks

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:52 pm 
Business Member

I've personally used Mueller scopes on many rim-fire rifles as that is a bit of an obsession of mine.
The one time I mounted a Mueller a .308 bolt rifle the insides were beat loose on the second range session.
Have you looks at the primary arms line of scopes? Not sure if they fall into your search criteria but they make a good product that doesn't break the bank.
-Jay

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:36 pm 

Thanks.
Budget is one of the main goal on my first scope. I want something what will hold up, and i can use it on different rifles. Something basic with illumination. Once i learned what i really want from a scope, i just put this on my AR , and get a better scope for the DMR setup.
You think this PA scope would work better than the Mueller?
https://www.primaryarms.com/Primary_Arms_4_16X44_Illuminated_Mil_Dot_Scope_p/pa416x.htm

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 8:58 pm 

I have used Tasco and Mueller scopes for years. I've had both on my 54rs without failure. The Mueller ones have far superior optics in comparison. I currently have a Mueller 4-16x40 on my 7mm Rem mag and a 4-12x50 on my V308.Im getting ready to put a Mueller 8.5-25x50 on my Savage 223 Bolt action.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 9:56 pm