THE VEPR FORUM

Atterete Dominatum
It is currently Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:38 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:30 am 

I've got a POSP 6x42 lux scope for my vepr in x54r. I don't mind the scope's left had offset too much, but I'd much rather have a scope sit directly above the bore. Are there any SVD style mounts that seat the scope in the center of the rifle? I've seen Texas Weapon Systems' 'dog leg mount' and it looks pretty interesting, but I'm skeptical about it holding a zero with a decent posp scope. Comments, opinions, suggestions... They are all appreciated!

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 11:41 am 
Business Member

How far left is the offset?

If it isn't too much offset and there is no lower that will achieve the result you desire, maybe you could have the lower portion of the mount milled to allow the upper to sit further to the right. I have no experience with the mount that comes with your scope, but from the pics I have looked at, it appears that there may be room to lose a little material on the lower without compromising the structural integrity of it. I could be wrong though.

evl....

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:55 pm 

The distance from center bore to the center of the scope lens is 1.5 inches. I've already considered milling it, but it looks like there are two screws that won't line back up if I do.
I think that this is a little hopeless. Any lower mount piece that sits this scope over the receiver will theoretically just 'lean' it over and tilt the whole thing. Imagine trying to use a BDC with THAT set up! Maybe I'll just try to find someone to trade for a weaver style posp and go from there

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:46 pm