THE VEPR FORUM

Atterete Dominatum
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 1:05 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:15 am 
Big Sal

What is the general consensus regarding the durability of the Ace folding mechanism vs, say the AK100 pattern or other non-bubba'ed folding mechanism?
I am thinking anything held horizontally with locktite is inherently a poor choice to put on rifle, but Id like to hear everyone elses take on it.

:?:

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 10:12 pm 

Generally the ACE sidefolders are pretty sturdy, but they will fail before the ak100 or AKS74 style units will.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 10:32 pm 
Big Sal

I am not an engineer, but my educated guess is that you are correct. I am concerned with anything held together with loctite and horizontal screws. I have a few friends that run Ace folders, but they are really just weekend shooters unconcerned with field reliability. I think the Beryl folder (or bonesteel unit), AK74m pattern, Molot RPK/V12 Mechanism or AKSU pattern folder mechanisms are probably the strongest. Id like to test this out somehow.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:34 am 
Business Member

AK100 for the WIN! Absolutely no doubt in my mind that the AK100 will take more abuse and have a longer service life than the previously mentioned hinges. However, they are probably fine for people who are not rough on gear.

evl....

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:23 am 
Big Sal

evlblkwpnz wrote:
AK100 for the WIN! Absolutely no doubt in my mind that the AK100 will take more abuse and have a longer service life than the previously mentioned hinges. However, they are probably fine for people who are not rough on gear.

evl....

Exactly. I think the ACE units are fine for hobbyists and folk who dont really need a durable solution, but want a tactical "look".

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:40 am 
Voice of Reason